Book Club

This Beacon-affiliated group meets on the fourth Thursday of the month at 7 pm.

May 23rd

Forgiveness: a gift from my grandparents by Mark Sakamoto
Discussion Leader: Susan Tarras

Heart-rending true story of Ralph MacLean and Mitsue Sakamoto as the Second World War rips their lives and their humanity out of their grasp. But somehow, these two brave individuals surmounted such enormous transgressions and learned to forgive. (Source: BPL)

June 27th
My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante
Discussion Leader: Gail Thomson

Beginning in the 1950s Elena and Lila grow up in Naples, Italy, mirroring two different aspects of their nation. (Publisher)

July 25th
The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Euxpery
Discussion Leader: Marilyn Medén

An aviator whose plane is forced down in the Sahara Desert encounters a little prince from a small planet who relates his adventures in seeking the secret of what is important in life.

August 22nd
Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Schaffer and Annie Barrows
Discussion Leader: Sylvia McDonald

“I wonder how the book got to Guernsey? Perhaps there is some sort of secret homing instinct in books that brings them to their perfect readers.” January 1946: London is emerging from the shadow of the Second World War, and writer Juliet Ashton is looking for her next book subject. Who could imagine that she would find it in a letter from a man she’s never met, a native of the island of Guernsey, who has come across her name written inside a book by Charles Lamb. . . . (BPL)

For more information, please contact